Bachelor in Paradise 3, Episode 5

Bachelor in Paradise 3, Episode 5

The Ashley I. episode. They hate you ’cause they ain’t you.

 

ashley ew.jpg

PHOTO CREDIT: ENTERTAINMENT WEEKLY

First (second and third) impressions of new arrivals:
Ashley I. – I did my impression in the last post. Love her or hate her, she’s here, and isn’t likely to be leaving very quickly.

Jen – If you’re like me, you’ll remember Jen because you had her winning the season in your Bachelor Bracket. (My top 3 was Jojo, Olivia, and Jen.) She’s fairly reserved, and absolutely beautiful.

 

nick jen hollywoodtake

PHOTO CREDIT: HOLLYWOODTAKE VIA ABC

Episode recap:
Finally, Ashley arrives in Paradise. (I think we are safe to drop the I.) I live for this girl’s facial expressions. Of course, she pulls Jared off to the side, and he talks to her about his interest in Caila. Cue Ashley fighting back tears, and a side view of her great contour. Then she wants to talk to the twins. Has she even met them before? Ashley reveals that she had confided in Caila about Jared, and Caila had assured her that he wasn’t her type. Ashley then talks to a parrot for a while (which is much better than a raccoon). Caila and Ashley speak, and Caila is extremely cautious and apologetic with everything she says. Caila doesn’t deny that she said Jared wasn’t her type, and Ashley is honest and straight-foward the entire conversation. Ashley and Jared talk again, and it’s more of the same bullshit where Jared repeatedly tells Ashley that he doesn’t want her to leave. I get it, he’s a nice guy, but he’s lacking in tact and a backbone.

Ashley finally settles on Daniel for her date. This is probably the best match in the history of the show. The blend of Daniel’s awkward conversation with Ashley’s expressive faces is pure gold. Ashley is the first person other than Chad that I’ve seen hold a fluent conversation with Daniel. Of course the topic of Jared gets brought up, but surprisingly not by Ashley. Everything that comes out of this girl’s mouth always makes it seem like Jared really has strung her along quite a bit for the past year. Ashley is actually quite sweet and honest towards Daniel, which again, is a big part of her likability. Back at Paradise, Jared is doing his best to keep things on the right course with Caila. She is extremely determined not be the villain in the scenario.

The next day, Nick points out how happy everyone is besides himself and Ashley. Seriously, how has Nick been spending his time, other than talking to the twins? Jen arrives at Paradise, and Nick seems to perk up pretty quickly at the sight of her. To his delight, Jen asks him on the date. Their date consists of going yachting, and the pair jump very quickly into confessing their attraction and being physical. Jen is making things pretty easy for Nick, which makes me think they may not last long. Andi and Kaitlyn were both strong, hard-to-get women, so that may be more of his type. I just don’t think he enjoys things going smoothly, nor having the upper-hand. There’s some creepy Evan/Carly/ambulance/hospital nonsense going on in the meantime, and Carly is starting to open up to the idea of Evan again. (Aka, she is aboard the Evan train?)

The episode goes to rose ceremony night, where Caila voices her concerns to Jared, and he says he is definitely giving his rose to her. Nick says all the things to Ashley that Jared has should’ve said a year ago, telling her that her and Jared will never be together. When Jared and Ashley sit down to talk, he isn’t exactly nice to her. I could easily sway to either side with my opinion on this, because I understand both of their perspectives, but I can’t help but feel it’s Jared’s fault this is happening. I’m not saying Ashley isn’t delusional. The episode ends with a preview of the drama that is to come with next episode, and hopefully it won’t be a letdown.

 

Who I would like to see stick around:

Ashey I.

 

Who I’ve had enough of:

Evan, Carly

 

Couples I’m rooting for:

Nick and Jen

 

Cringe-worthy couples:

Evan and Carly

 

Best moments of the episode:
Ashley I’s arrival

Caila’s pineapple bathing suit

Nick’s moment of honesty with Ashley

 

Worst moments of the episode:

Zero dialogue from Josh, Amanda, or Lace

Another episode where they don’t include the clips that were in the previews

Leave a comment